I broke the rules but God helped me learn from it

I cannot say that I am perfect. I make mistakes, hurt someone else’s feelings and sometimes even do things that are considered sinful, not from the sight of people but from the sight of God. Before, for the sake of satisfying my needs or someone else’s need, I kept pushing on doing it.

I had this experience 6 years ago, and until now I remember in detail what exactly happened because this was my turning point.

rules

I am a born again Christian and I have my ministry in church. I gave importance to these things, but sometimes I neglect my responsibilities.

My parents had created rules for me and my sister while we’re still studying and one of them was not to engage into a relationship, because we won’t be able to focus on our studies alone. So we made a promise, not just to our parents but also to God.

Then the time came that I fell into the trap because of peer pressure and curiosity. I kept it for so long because I am enjoying what I am feeling even though I know that I am being dishonest to my parents and God. At first the relationship was in a good state but as time goes by I get hurt and I can’t focus on things.

After how many months, my parents had the discernment and they found out about the relationship. I was crying hardly when I told them that it’s true. I kept saying sorry. Of course they were mad at first, but the thing that shocked me was they didn’t scold me, and instead helped me confess my sins to God and made me realize that things really wouldn’t work out if it is not yet God’s time. After that I fully committed to His will.

Until now, I can remember that event which left a mark on me. I feel guilty, but I always turn to God and I know that He forgave me already.

Leave a comment